1859-1865 Henry John Temple, Viscount Palmerston Liberal
1865-1866 Lord John Russell Liberal
1866-1868 Edward George Geoffrey Smith Stanley, Earl of Derby Conservative
1868 Benjamin Disraeli Conservative
1868-1874 William Gladstone Liberal
1874-1880 Benjamin Disraeli Conservative
1880-1885 William Gladstone Liberal
1885-1886 Robert Arthur Talbot Gacoyne-Cecil, Marquess of Salisbury Conservative
1886 William Gladstone Liberal
1886-1892 Robert Arthur Talbot Gacoyne-Cecil, Marquess of Salisbury Conservative
1892-1894 William Gladstone Liberal
1894-1895 Archibald Philip Primrose, Earl of Rosebury Liberal
1895-1902 Robert Arthur Talbot Gacoyne-Cecil, Marquess of Salisbury Conservative
1902-1905 Arthur James Balfour Conservative
1905-1908 Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman Liberal
1908-1916 Herbert Henry Asquith Liberal
1916-1922 David Lloyd George Coalition
1922-1923 Andrew Bonar Law Conservative
1923-1924 Stanley Baldwin Conservative
1924 Ramsay MacDonald Labour
1924-1929 Stanley Baldwin Conservative
1929-1935 Ramsay MacDonald Labour
1935-1937 Stanley Baldwin National Government
1937-1940 Neville Chamberlain Conservative
1940-1945 Winston Churchill Coalition
1945-1951 Clement Attlee Labour
1951-1955 Winston Churchill Conservative
1955-1957 Sir Antony Eden Conservative
1957-1963 Harold Macmillan Conservative
1963-1964 Sir Alec Douglas-Home Conservative
1964-1970 Harold Wilson Labour
1970-1974 Edward Heath Conservative
1974-1976 Harold Wilson Labour
1976-1979 James Callaghan Labour
1979-1990 Margaret Thatcher Conservative
1990-1997 John Major Conservative
1997- 2007 Tony Blair Labour
2007-2010 Gordon Brown Labour
2010-2016 David Cameron Conservative (Conservative / Liberal Democrat Coalition)
2016-2019 Theresa May Conservative
2019 Boris Johnson Conservative



Know Britain Home Page
General Index